Elections/2017 – President of the CNE Announcing the Final Results / Photo: Joaquina Bento

A total of six political parties ran in the Angolan general elections held on August 23, namely, the People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA), the National Front for the Liberation of Angola (FNLA), the Social Renewal Party (PRS), the National Patriotic Alliance (APN), as well as the Broad Convergence for the Salvation of Angola – Electoral Coalition (CASA-CE).

The official results, released on Wednesday, September 6, in Luanda by the National Electoral Commission (CNE), declared the MPLA winner with 4,164,157 votes (61.07%). With a qualified majority, the ruling MPLA party managed to get elected its candidates for President and Vice-President of the Republic, João Lourenço and Bornito de Sousa respectively, as well as 150 of the 220 parliamentary seats to the National Assembly.

The party lead by Isaías Samakuva, UNITA, came second in the general elections with 1,818,903 votes (26.67%) representing 51 parliamentary seats. The Casa-CE won 643,961 votes (9.44%) and 16 parliamentary seats.

The PRS garnered 92,222 votes (1.35%) and two parliamentary seats while the FNLA, received 63,658 votes (0.9%) and one parliamentary seat. The APN came in the last position, with 34,976 votes (0.51%), enough only to remain as a political party but not for a seat to the National Assembly.

Source: ANGOP

Please contact the Embassy to request permission to copy the content.